Skip to content
August 27, 2009 / Stephanie L S Cheng

Spiral or Perfect Bound?

As I prepare for the design of my book for my upcoming exhibition, I was looking into binding options. Spiral bound was never an option as it always seemed to be the corporate way out, the easy way out…..I am always a fan of perfect bound or hard-cover bound. With a little patience, I would also go for traditional japanese or chinese binding.

In my research, I found Pentegram’s new design for the The Standard, spiral bound with varnish and coating. Thoughts? Maybe my narrow-mind needs to step away from the matte/unfinished paper and recognize the longevity of coated and varnished paper.

Sappi_Stan_White_620

StandardV3_Spread3_sm2

StandardV3_Spread4_sm2

Images – Pentagram.

Leave a Reply

